Vous êtes ici :

A further step towards the first European University

Publication date: 11/12/15

ThemesHeadline news 

On 9 December 2015, the Universities of Basel, Freiburg, Haute-Alsace, Strasbourg and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology signed the founding documents for the trinational European Campus.
The universities have broken new ground in cross-border cooperation in Europe: this alliance is the first “European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation” (EGTC) to be supported entirely by universities. This new legal status will allow them to submit funding proposals as a single entity and draft a common plan for strategic development while retaining their autonomy. The aim is to enable member universities to use the EGTC as a central instrument for European Campus projects. The European Campus concentrates the research and teaching potential of the Upper Rhine universities: 15,000 researchers benefit from cross-border innovation and knowledge transfer, and 115,000 students are given the opportunity to study in a trinational environment. The European Campus was created against the backdrop of longstanding cooperation between the universities on the Upper Rhine. In 1989 they teamed up to form an international network called Eucor (European Confederation of Universities on the Upper Rhine). By establishing the European Campus, the five universities aim to take this cross-border cooperation in research and teaching to a new level in order to gain a key advantage in the international competition for the best minds and ideas. The founding documents will be submitted to the Freiburg Regional Administrative Authority. The EGTC can take up its work officially upon the ratification of the documents by the responsible authorities in Germany, French, and Switzerland. Further information:


Logo du CNRS
Logo Établissement associé de l'Université de Strasbourg
Logo du réseau Epicur
Logo de EUCOR, Le Campus européen
Logo de l'Inserm Grand Est
Logo de l'Inria


Logo du label Bienvenue en France
Logo du programme HRS4R
Logo du programme France 2030
Logo de Service Public+


Logo de France Universités
Logo de la Ligue européenne des universités de recherche (LERU)
Logo du réseau Udice
Logo de l'Université franco-allemande